W&R Saturday 25/03

 
Writing
 
I feel good about my book. Myself and my boyfriend had a huge chat about my world. It is amazing to be able to discuss the ins and outs with someone. To see my world come to life in his words. I’ve decided on a couple of things:
1. I’m no longer going to worry about getting a short story or poem published. It is too stressful at the moment. As I was sitting on the bus on my way home on Tuesday, it dawned on me. I’ve been writing for less than 2 years. Why am I in such a rush?
2. I am going to start draft 3. I have all the pieces for the 1st chapter. I’ve outlined it for my boyfriend and he agrees with my idea. I know the tone I want, I know how I want the reader to feel. I am ready.

3. I figured out what I’m doing in camp. Good news because the cabin assignments are in a few days. My goal is to write 30 pages in April, either in notebook pages or my Series Bible pages, or pages into scrivener.
4. I am thrilled with my blog posts for this week, I enjoyed writing the poem for Friday. I am appreciating writing for the action itself instead of thinking about the pressures. I freaking adored doing the free write post. The best bit about doing the free write post is that I do not edit what comes out of the pen on the 1st try. The one thing I noticed, is that I need to work on word choices and languages used by different characters. Jasper and Theo would not use the same words as Yazmin and Leah. They are from 2 different classes, it is another thing to add to the to-do list.
I feel good about myself and my ideas. There is a monumental amount of work left to do but right now, I find the prospect exciting. I freaking love writing. I love how I get to create these threads of stories, interlocking and weaving them together. Pointing the spotlight to the areas you are allowed to see. Hiding the scope of work.
I do not know how to express the feelings I am feeling. How do I explain that I have an entire world: with multiple cities and cultures: with people of all shapes and sizes who deal with the most mundane task or the tense life or death situation? I have all that in my head, I created it. It is mind blowing and I love it. Other writers will understand it and the people like my boyfriend. I doubt if others will. I always loved books but I never understood the sheer magnitude of epic-ness that comes from physically writing a book.
Reading
I am currently on chapter 33 in the Wells of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson. I have to extend my loan on the book again, this is my 3rd month reading it. The last time it took me this long to read a book was when I first read the Lord of the rings when I was about 14 years old. I managed to read 3/4 of the Lord of the rings before I gave up. The next time I picked it up, about 16 years old, I read it in 2 days!
I’m not giving up on this book unless of course, I have to bring it back to the library before I finish it. I am itching to re-read a Terry Pratchett especially since I’m so close to started draft 3. Every day I add books to my to-read list. The list is quite long. I never thought that if I became a writer I would have less time to read than before.
That’s it for this week, next Saturday will be the 1st day of camp NaNoWriMo. I will be in a cabin by then, this year I selected to be in a random cabin with the option to have people around my age in the cabin. I am looking forward to interacting with writers. Happy Saturday.

 

Leave a Reply

