IWSG October

Insecure Writers Support Group Badge

When do you know your story is ready?

This is this month’s Insecure Writer’s Support Group question. It is a nice way to network through other writers blogs. You can check out their website here, and add your blog to list here.

This month question is difficult to answer. I do not know when I know, it comes down to my own capabilities. I am done, when I know I cannot add more to the story that I am working on at that point in time.
My first short story that I wrote, The Child, is not finished. I stopped writing it because at that time I could not add anything else to it. I could pick it up now and improve it, I have learned a great deal since writing this. However, I do not feel I could do it justification at this moment.
This is why I have started the challenges of writing a short prompt each week. I have to have them ready by Monday. More often than not they are not perfect. They are generally covered in typos which I do not see until 24 hours later when I am publishing them on this site. There are two reasons why I publish those prompts. First, to showcase my writing, to market myself. Secondly, to learn where I need to improve and to improve.
With my WIP all I know is that it is nowhere near ready. When it is, I can promise you guys, that you will be in the top 10 people I will tell first.
Happy writing and happy October.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

4 thoughts on “IWSG October

  1. Doing a short story prompt each week sounds like a great idea. I did a monthly short story thing for a while. I was not always happy with the results, but it was the best learning experience I’ve ever had as a writer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

