Another update

Carpal tunnel syndrome
Here I am, sitting in my office twirling pen between my fingers, with headphones on, one of those cool headphones which have a mic attached. The carpal tunnel, or tendinitis, whatever it is that is hurting my right arm, has flared up again. I cannot use my right arm for the next two months. I cannot bend my wrist in anyway shape or form. This is extremely difficult.

On Friday, I went to the shops and purchased the software Dragon Naturally Speaking. I am using this software right now. It is a weird experience. It’s the first time that all the thoughts and ideas and randomness of my brain frozen. It’s really strange talking out loud in a fluid way, even though I do that the whole time inside my head actually speaking my thoughts and having them written down in front of me, my brain has stage fright. I am also extremely self-conscious of my own voice, and the fact that someone could be listening to me.

By the end of the week, I hope to be fluent in speaking to my computer. I want to write 1000 words per day into my novel. I will have to do this work during the day now because at night my boyfriend works his physics in the same room as me, it is not feasible for me to be talking out loud to the computer while he is trying to work. At least that way, I won’t feel as much as a fool talking to the computer out loud by myself compared to if he was there.

Novel
I wrote 2400 words this week. I did 400 last night dictating, it is difficult because I really have to think before speaking which slows the process down. Normally when I write it is like ink coming out of the pen, flows not too much, not too little, just enough to get the story out. It is a matter of adjustment, and remembering to say out loud the punctuation that is needed. Hopefully, I won’t end up saying “comma” in my day-to-day life.

Bullet journal
I am loving my bullet journal, keeps track of my writing, poems, podcasts I listen to, appointments, and meetings. I have been using the journal for one month now, I have three collections: poem ideas, authors and books I want to read, mental health research. The last one is research for my novel I have been looking at documentaries on schizophrenia, psychopaths, narcissist, multiple personality disorder, and bipolar. I also watched a documentary on children in poverty, which opened up my eyes, I may have very little money to spend on myself but at least I don’t have to look after a child, and they don’t have to deal with the fact.

I apologise for several weeks of no poetry or writing extracts. Hopefully now with the Dragon, I can begin to write again.

Leave a Reply

