The heat

I must not complain.
I grew up in the rain.
Rarely did my eye
see an empty blue sky.

I woke up at nine
feeling perfectly fine.
It is now nearly one
and the heat has won.

I drink so much water
but never feel cooler.
I stick to my chair
as the fan blows warm air.

I lift the empty glass.
‘Damn. I must move my ass.’
I never thought the heat
could be so complete.

Even at night
there is no respite.
I will not complain
but I do miss my rain.

© 2015 elegancesicy.wordpress.com

One thought on “The heat

Leave a Reply

