Girl in the red coat

Girl in the red coat:
I tried to save you
When you walked off the boat.
I did not think it was true.

I waited two heartbeats
And I followed you.
I am no athlete.
I had to make-do.

I saw your little face,
Your hands outstretched
In that cold, dark place.
Your face is forever etched

Inside my head.
Your eyes unblinking.
I watched in dread,
The last air bubble escaping.

I must tell your mother,
As you sink into the dark basin,
That you are gone forever.
In my dream ocean.

© 2015 elegancesicy.wordpress.com

One thought on “Girl in the red coat

  1. Pingback: Elegances Icy™

Leave a Reply

